College & Career Readiness Resources

Our goal is to make College and Career exploration and preparation exciting and simple.  We have compiled a list of useful resources, in one place, to help streamline your process.  As always, feel free to contact Student Services with any questions!

NEW Resource:  College Majors 101

Learn More Indiana - http://www.in.gov/learnmoreindiana/
Learn More Indiana’s mission is to help Hoosier students of all ages PLAN, PREPARE, and PAY for college completion and career success through effective communications and outreach efforts.

Indiana Career Explorerhttp://www.indianacareerexplorer.org
An easy online tool available to all Hoosiers to explore their career interests and skills.  Follow these easy steps to get started!
1.   To set up an account and get started go to www.indianacareerexplorer.org
2.   Click on the “New users register here” link to set up a free account.
3.   Select the appropriate “User Type”: student, parent, etc.
4.   Enter your registration information, making certain to complete the required fields (with *asterisks). Be certain to provide your e-mail address so that you can access your username/password in the future if you forget it.
5.  At the end of the registration screen, enter the following registration activation code: (contact your counselor for activation code) and click “Register”.
6.  Be sure to make note of the username and password you chose in order to login to Indiana Career Explorer in the future.
My Username:
My Password:


General College Information

National Center for College Costs - http://www.collegecosts.com/

Indiana College Profileshttp://www.indianacollegecosts.org/explore-indiana-colleges/indiana-college-profiles

National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC) - www.nacacnet.org
Under the “students” tab there is information on college preparation tips and a timeline.

College Board Website - www.collegeboard.org
The most comprehensive college information site includes practice SAT tests, a searchable database of colleges, financial aid information, and career planning information.

U.S. News Online - www.usnews.com/education
Information on searching for colleges, undergraduate and graduate programs, college rankings, financial aid, skills assessments and career inventories.

Princeton Review Online - www.princetonreview.com
Extensive college and career information site includes timed tests, essay hints, internship database, career lists of salary, industry and career profiles.

College View - www.collegeview.com
Profiles thousands of colleges and universities, virtual multimedia tours of selected schools, financial aid info, and career planning tools.

Campus Tours -  www.campustours.com
Take a virtual tour of 8000+ colleges!

Common Application -  www.commonapp.org
Hundreds of schools use this one common form for admission.

Trip to College -  www.triptocollege.org
This site offers college planning information.

In Like Me -  www.inlikeme.com
Information about finding the right college fit, campus visits, early action/early decision, resources for researching colleges, test prep, etc.

College Navigator - www.nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator
A free consumer info resource provided by the U.S. Department of Education.

College Insight -  www.college-insight.org
Easy-to-use college profiles.

Unigo -  www.unigo.com
Provides reviews by actual students attending the college, institution-specific stats and rankings.

U-CAN Network  - www.ucan-network.org
Charts and concise information on more than 700 private institutions.

College Portraits  -  www.collegeportraits.org
Similar to U-CAN (above) but for public institutions.

College Results Online - www.collegeresults.org
Provides interactive tools to query graduation rates at four-year schools, can compare different colleges with each other.

FairTest -  www.fairtest.org
Provides a list of more than 800 four-year colleges and universities that do not use the SAT I or ACT to admit students.

Cappex -  www.cappex.com
Easy-to-absorb college profiles with scholarship resources for registered users.




PrintEmail

Madison Image